In our Display Hall, see the unique prison tram used for transport between Long Bay Gaol and Darlinghurst Court House for more than 40 years.
The Museum’s operational fleet includes not only an extensive collection of Sydney trams from 1896 to 1952, but also trams from Brisbane, Melbourne, Ballarat, San Francisco, Nagasaki, Berlin, Munich and Milan, enabling comparisons between the different tramcar designs. A double-deck tram from Hobart and a Brill-built bogie car of 1902 from the Western Australian gold-mining city of Kalgoorlie still have to be restored. The Museum also houses Sydney’s last remaining double-deck trolley-bus.
Buses & Trolley Buses
The Museum also houses Sydney’s last remaining double-deck trolley-bus: No 19, an AEC 3-axle, built in 1937 by Ritchie Bros Pty Ltd. Acquired by the Museum in 1978, its body was re-built, and partly fitted out, by apprentices of the then State Rail in Chullora.